Inspiration

I know I am not alone when I say that sometimes in yarn craft you get into a slump; you have all the good intention of picking up another project but lack the motivation to do so (I theorize that this “slump” mostly happens in the summer months). I have been through these several times (some have even lasted months at a time!). I have come up with a kind of solution, Inspiration. I find that to be inspired by some pattern or idea is the best medicine for this awful sickening lack of fiber in one’s life.

What inspires me? Well, many things can set me off on a yarn-aholic binge. There are a few things I can do for myself and my craft, when I feel the “slumps” coming on. I especially enjoy shopping with my girlfriends to get ideas for new projects (which has become much easier lately since knit and crochet garments are in style). Another thing I like to do is browse the local yarn shops for new yarn and patterns. A new inspirational idea that I enjoy tremendously is that of novels written by and about crafters; much like Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove series, or  Blossom Street series. The newest yarn based book I’ve come across is A Fatal Fleece by Sally Goldenbaum and A Stitch in Crime by Betty Hechtman; both of which are crochet mystery novels.

Now what about you? I would like to hear what your inspirations are to keep crafting. I invite you to leave a comment telling how you keep yourself out of the “Slumps”.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole Keen
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 02:34:28

    Of late, my inspirations have been babies. A couple of co-workers of mine are pregnant, so I’ve been collecting patterns for baby items. Particularly, beanies and headbands. And pets. I have three large dogs, so I’ve been searching for patterns that will be durable for a rottweiler, a pit bull and a german shepherd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

