Oh the Irony

As this year’s ILY day draws to a close, we are smitten even more with the fibery goodness that makes up who we are as crafters. Some of you may have brought your craft to work today, or made a piece of jewelry to wear, or ordered/received a new yarn at the LYS or online. But while most of you had an amazing day with yarn, I had my hopes crushed.
Let me elaborate. . .

This morning began like any other; except for  the amazing anticipation for the yarn I ordered from MaryMaxim. Bernat Satin yarns 6skiens, enough to make 2 prayer shawls as Christmas gifts for family members. I had previously missed the UPS guy before and was hopeful to be there when he/she came back the second time. Alas it was not to be, I missed them again!

I called UPS and asked them to hold the package for me to pick it up in person this evening. I trudged down to the warehouse customer care center, and I was thwarted again! The driver wasn’t back yet and wouldn’t be for another 45 minutes.

I am not one for which patience is an option, (pair that with not having any yarn to play with) but I decided that this would be worth the wait. Then I could go home and fondle my new wonderful yarns, to start my holiday gifting lists.  I made it through, received my package and went home.

While in my crafty corner, with an ice cold cola. I opened the lovely bag of fiber goodness. Immediately my face fell. The colors were to bright than what was showed online, I wanted subtle colors and I got 3skeins of BRIGHT Variegated red/green/cream/pink, and 3skeins of a To Dark brown.

After a moment to compose myself I figured it was my monitor’s error, and I didn’t see the true coloring. I could deal with it, it is still lovely useable yarn. It is possible to make the shawls, they will just be a bit different than I imagined. . . Then I noticed that the variegated yarn looked a bit smaller than the brown ones. I checked the label and sure enough brown: 100g. and Variegated:80g. Then just out of curiosity I looked at my pattern for the shawl  to check the grams needed “3 skeins of 120g. Bernat Satin yarn”. This means I need another skein of each at least.

I flipped!! Not only were the colors off majorly but I didn’t have even close to enough to make the shawls.

What to do now, resell the skeins, try and return them, or Keep Calm and Order More Yarn!

The irony of this day is vexing.

Happy Hooking!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 23:28:15

    Order more yarn! Even if/when you find the right colors, you can still use the yarn you just bought for other projects! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jennie
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 16:34:12

    order more yarn, and find a new project for what you already have! you can never have too much yarn 🙂

    Reply

  3. kathy
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 22:42:45

    Is there ever enough yarn? I think not! Order more if you can and have the company send you a catalog with the proper photos of the right color. Have better day. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

